Tuesday, February 05, 2013

List Of UK MPs Who Voted Against Marriage Equality And Would Regret Being Retrogrades In Their Own Lifetime

The list below shows UK Members of Parliament (MPs) who voted against bringing in equality in marriage to allow same sex couples marry like their opposite sex counter parts. Like I wrote here earlier today, these people would, even if they fail to acknowledge openly, regret the decision they made today. This is not a threat but a reality because it has always been so on all issue of progress and fairness like the abolishment of slave trade, decriminalizing of homosexuality, granting women the vote, and many other issues. This is also very true taken that some of them who, just 7 years ago voted against Civil Partnership are today calling it useful and good in their bid to thwart this equality today.

The list is taken from Liberal Conspiracy and you can read more on their blog. It has been arranged by Parties and affliates, etc.

Libdem MPs who voted against – 4
Sir Alan Beith (Berwick-upon-Tweed)
Gordon Birtwistle (Burnley)
John Pugh (Southport)
Sarah Teather (Brent Central).

Conservative MPs who voted against – 139
Nigel Adams (Selby & Ainsty)
Adam Afriyie (Windsor),
Peter Aldous (Waveney),
David Amess (Southend West),
James Arbuthnot (Hampshire North East),
Richard Bacon (Norfolk South),
Steven Baker (Wycombe),
Tony Baldry (Banbury),
Guto Bebb (Aberconwy),
Henry Bellingham (Norfolk North West),
Sir Paul Beresford (Mole Valley),
Andrew Bingham (High Peak),
Bob Blackman (Harrow East),
Graham Brady (Altrincham & Sale West),
Julian Brazier (Canterbury),
Andrew Bridgen (Leicestershire North West),
Steve Brine (Winchester),
Fiona Bruce (Congleton),
Robert Buckland (Swindon South),
Simon Burns (Chelmsford),
David Burrowes (Enfield Southgate),
Alun Cairns (Vale of Glamorgan),
Douglas Carswell (Clacton),
Bill Cash (Stone),
Rehman Chishti (Gillingham & Rainham),
Christopher Chope (Christchurch),
Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (Cotswolds, The),
Geoffrey Cox (Devon West & Torridge),
Stephen Crabb (Preseli Pembrokeshire),
David Davies (Monmouth),
Glyn Davies (Montgomeryshire),
Philip Davies (Shipley),
David Davis (Haltemprice & Howden),
Nick de Bois (Enfield North),
Caroline Dinenage (Gosport),
Richard Drax (Dorset South),
Charlie Elphicke (Dover),
Jonathan Evans (Cardiff North),
David Evennett (Bexleyheath & Crayford),
Michael Fallon (Sevenoaks),
Dr Liam Fox (Somerset North),
Mark Francois (Rayleigh & Wickford),
George Freeman (Norfolk Mid),
Roger Gale (Thanet North),
Sir Edward Garnier (Harborough),
Mark Garnier (Wyre Forest),
Cheryl Gillan (Chesham & Amersham),
John Glen (Salisbury),
Robert Goodwill (Scarborough & Whitby),
James Gray (Wiltshire North),
Andrew Griffiths (Burton),
Robert Halfon (Harlow),
Simon Hart (Carmarthen West & Pembrokeshire South),
Sir Alan Haselhurst (Saffron Walden),
John Hayes (South Holland & The Deepings),
Oliver Heald (Hertfordshire North East),
Gordon Henderson (Sittingbourne & Sheppey),
Philip Hollobone (Kettering),
Adam Holloway (Gravesham),
Sir Gerald Howarth (Aldershot),
Stewart Jackson (Peterborough),
Gareth Johnson (Dartford),
David Jones (Clwyd West),
Marcus Jones (Nuneaton),
Greg Knight (Yorkshire East),
Kwasi Kwarteng (Spelthorne),
Mark Lancaster (Milton Keynes North),
Pauline Latham (Derbyshire Mid),
Jeremy Lefroy (Stafford),
Edward Leigh (Gainsborough),
Julian Lewis (New Forest East),
David Lidington (Aylesbury),
Peter Lilley (Hitchin & Harpenden),
Jack Lopresti (Filton & Bradley Stoke),
Jonathan Lord (Woking),
Tim Loughton (Worthing East & Shoreham),
Karen Lumley (Redditch),
Karl McCartney (Lincoln),
Anne McIntosh (Thirsk & Malton),
Stephen McPartland (Stevenage),
Esther McVey (Wirral West),
Anne Main (St Albans),
Paul Maynard (Blackpool North & Cleveleys),
Stephen Metcalfe (Basildon South & Thurrock East),
Nicky Morgan (Loughborough),
Anne-Marie Morris (Newton Abbot),
David Morris (Morecambe & Lunesdale),
James Morris (Halesowen & Rowley Regis),
Bob Neill (Bromley & Chislehurst),
Caroline Nokes (Romsey & Southampton North),
David Nuttall (Bury North),
Stephen O’Brien (Eddisbury),
Matthew Offord (Hendon),
Jim Paice (Cambridgeshire South East),
Neil Parish (Tiverton & Honiton),
Priti Patel (Witham),
Owen Paterson (Shropshire North),
Mark Pawsey (Rugby),
Mike Penning (Hemel Hempstead),
Mark Pritchard (Wrekin, The),
John Randall (Uxbridge & Ruislip South),
John Redwood (Wokingham),
Jacob Rees-Mogg (Somerset North East),
Simon Reevell (Dewsbury),
Sir Malcolm Rifkind (Kensington),
Andrew Robathan (Leicestershire South),
Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury),
Andrew Rosindell (Romford),
David Ruffley (Bury St Edmunds),
David Rutley (Macclesfield),
Andrew Selous (Bedfordshire South West),
Alec Shelbrooke (Elmet & Rothwell),
Sir Richard Shepherd (Aldridge-Brownhills),
Henry Smith (Crawley),
Sir John Stanley (Tonbridge & Malling),
John Stevenson (Carlisle),
Bob Stewart (Beckenham),
Mel Stride (Devon Central),
Julian Sturdy (York Outer),
Robert Syms (Poole),
Sir Peter Tapsell (Louth & Horncastle),
David Tredinnick (Bosworth),
Andrew Turner (Isle of Wight),
Shailesh Vara (Cambridgeshire North West),
Martin Vickers (Cleethorpes),
Ben Wallace (Wyre & Preston North),
Robert Walter (Dorset North),
James Wharton (Stockton South),
Heather Wheeler (Derbyshire South),
Craig Whittaker (Calder Valley),
John Whittingdale (Maldon),
Bill Wiggin (Herefordshire North),
Gavin Williamson (Staffordshire South),
Jeremy Wright (Kenilworth & Southam)

Labour MPs who voted against – 23
Joe Benton (Bootle)
Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley)
Tom Clarke (Coatbridge Chryston & Bellshill)
Rosie Cooper (Lancashire West)
David Crausby (Bolton North East)
Tony Cunningham (Workington)
Jim Dobbin (Heywood & Middleton)
Brian Donohoe (Ayrshire Central)
Robert Flello (Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mary Glindon (Tyneside North)
Paul Goggins (Wythenshawe & Sale East)
Dai Havard (Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney)
Michael McCann (East Kilbride
Strathaven & Lesmahagow)
Jim McGovern (Dundee West)
Iain McKenzie (Inverclyde)
George Mudie (Leeds East)
Paul Murphy (Torfaen)
Stephen Pound (Ealing North)
Frank Roy (Motherwell & Wishaw)
Jim Sheridan (Paisley & Renfrewshire North)
Derek Twigg (Halton)
Mike Wood (Batley & Spen)

DUP MPs who voted against:
Gregory Campbell (Londonderry East),
Nigel Dodds (Belfast North),
Jeffrey Donaldson (Lagan Valley),
Rev William McCrea (Antrim South),
Ian Paisley Junior (Antrim North),
Jim Shannon (Strangford),
David Simpson (Upper Bann),
Sammy Wilson (Antrim East)

Plus: independents Nadine Dorries (Bedfordshire Mid) and Lady Sylvia Hermon (Down North).
7 Lib Dems, 16 Labour MPs and 35 Conservative MPs did not vote.
Plaid Cymru:
Jonathan Edwards (Carmarthen East & Dinefwr),
Elfyn Llwyd (Dwyfor Meirionnydd)
Hywel Williams (Arfon),
Greens: Caroline Lucas (Brighton Pavilion); Social Democratic and Labour Party: Mark Durkan (Foyle); Alliance: Naomi Long (Belfast East); independent: Eric Joyce (Falkirk) and Respect: George Galloway (Bradford West).

No comments:

Subscribe by Email